What IS Convert?!

Convert – MTG Mechanics Explained

Card KingdomStrategy

All right, this is tricky. Ready? Convert is exactly the same as Transform. Exactly, in every way.

This is purely a cosmetic change for trademark reasons. On all packaging and written material, Hasbro (who owns both Transformers and Magic) calls the act of a Transformer changing its form “converting” so as not to confuse the act with the brand name. So, when Universes Beyond added Transformers to the Magic lineup, the Transform mechanic was simply renamed accordingly for those cards.

All of the same rules caveats and notes that apply to Transform apply here, with the added note that anything that refers to transforming in Magic will apply to Convert as well.

https://youtu.be/_iIxwETOtNo

Technically, Convert is still showing up in Magic all the time on double-faced cards, it’s just called Transform. The only time it’ll show again in this way is if more Transformers cards ever get made. So, maybe someday!

Convert your collection however you see fit at cardkingdom.com!

All right, look. I didn’t want to have to do this, but the almighty algorithm demands that this article be a little longer for SEO purposes. If you didn’t know, SEO stands for Search Engine Optimization, and there’s people out there who attribute SEO with the death of the useful version of the internet, as most every piece of writing you can find on the internet nowadays (outside of places like Wikipedia) have been edited to comply with SEO best practices. So yeah, this paragraph serves no real purpose other than to pad the length of the article so Google likes it more. I’m sorry.