Ingest – MTG Mechanics Explained

Card KingdomStrategy

Ingest is a creature based mechanic that states that whenever a creature with it deals combat damage to a player, that player exiles the top card of their library. And…nothing else. Before I give you some context on this, the few rules notes:

  • Multiple instances of this do stack, although there’s not really currently a way for that to happen.
  • Cards exiled by this way are exiled face up.
  • The creature must deal combat damage to a player for Ingest to trigger; noncombat damage won’t do it.

So, this mechanic existed in Battle for Zendikar, a set which also had a bunch of Eldrazi creatures with the Processor creature type. Processors had abilities that required putting an exiled card owned by an opponent into their graveyard for an effect. Put together, Ingest and Processors were an interesting Limited archetype, but as a mechanic outside of that context, Ingest on its own is seen as pretty underwhelming, and given that it’s so closely linked to Processors, is unlikely to ever make a return.

Need to bolster your collection while you ingest this info? Visit!